ATTN: Renew your CBW Membership for 2014 -  Required for Member Meal Discount at this event

Not a CBW Member? Click to join now on line and get $5 member discount for this event


CBW Dinner Meeting in Gloucester County

Wednesday, April 23rd, 2014


Distinction Catering and Special Events Hall, located in the White Marsh Shopping Center at 4888 George Washington Memorial Highway in Hayes, VA.

Social at 5PM; Dinner at 6, Program begins at about 7PM

Click Here to Make Reservations

Advanced Reservations required by April 16th - (Price: $26; CBW Members $21)

(Open to the public on a space available basis - Scroll down for Menu options and Directions)

Join Author Reeve Lindbergh, the youngest of Charles and Anne Morrow Lindbergh's children, as she addresses:

"My writing process, the writing industry, and how it has changed over the years."

Reeve Lindbergh grew up with her sister and three brothers in Connecticut, in a big rambling old house on Long Island Sound. She remembers that in the family everyone was always on the water, in the woods and fields of what was then still quite rural southern Connecticut, or writing.

Reeve was educated in Connecticut and at Radcliffe College in Cambridge, Massachusetts. After graduating in 1968, she moved to Vermont, where she has been raising her family, writing, teaching, and engaging in volunteer activities ever since.

She is the author of two family memoirs, No More Words and Under a Wing; two novels, Moving To The Country and The Names Of The Mountains; View From The Air, a poem presenting Charles Lindbergh's love of earth and sky, illustrated by photographs taken on her father's last flights as a pilot by nature and landscape photographer Richard W. Brown; an illustrated book of essays, View From The Kingdom, also created in collaboration with Brown; and a number of children's books, including Our Nest, On Morning Wings, The Circle of Days, What Is the Sun?, If I'd Known Then What I Know Now, There's a COW in the Road!, Grandfather's Lovesong, The Midnight Farm, Benjamin's Barn, and The Day The Goose Got Loose. She has also written Nobody Owns the Sky, an illustrated poem for children telling the story of pioneer African-American aviator Bessie Coleman, and new introductions to recent editions of two of her father's books, The Spirit of St. Louis and Autobiography of Values. She has also written the foreword to a number of books including Return to the Sea, Flying Free, and five editions of childrens' poetry anthology books which celebrate the Anne Morrow Lindbergh Shell Coast Poetry Festival in Lee County, Florida.

Honorary Chairman of The Charles A. and Anne Morrow Lindbergh Foundation since October 17, 2004, Reeve had served as President since 1995, Vice President since 1986, and has been a member of the Board of Directors since the Foundation's formation in 1977. In this work, she leads efforts to further her parents' vision for improving the quality of life through balance between nature and technology. Her other volunteer activities include various community organizations concerned with children, the arts, and support for handicapped individuals.

Reeve lives in an old farmhouse at the end of a dirt road near St. Johnsbury, Vermont, with her husband, Nathaniel Tripp, their children, and an assortment of animals.

MENU (Choose Entree):


1. Chicken Distinction (Grilled Chicken w/ Sun Dried Tomatoes, Mushrooms & Onions) with Rice Pilaf and Vegetable Medley; or


2. Pasta Primavera with Stuffed Portabella Mushrooms Florentine.


Entree comes with Salad: Fancy Field Greens Salad with Balsamic Vinaigrette, and includes Bread, Butter, Iced Tea, Coffee and Dessert (Mini-Cheese Cakes with 2 Brownie Bites Raspberry Sauce & Whipped Cream.)

PRICE per person -

 (includes tax and gratuity)

Members=$21; Nonmembers=$26


Advance reservations required by April 16th. Refunds are only given when notice of cancellation is received at least two (2) business days in advance of the date of the meeting.


CBW Members who have yet to claim their CBW coffee mug may do so by attending this meeting or any future general meeting until the mug supply is exhausted.

Directions: Distinction Catering & Events - (804)824-9600


Distinction Catering and Special Events Hall is located in the White Marsh Shopping Center at 4888 George Washington Memorial Highway in Hayes, VA.



From Williamsburg and points south:
Make your way to Route 17 North
Cross Coleman Bridge Go 8.4 miles
When you see Shell Station on right and White Marsh shopping center on left, take 1st left onto 614/Brother Sam Rd. and get back onto US 17 south and right into White Marsh Shopping Center.
If you miss it, go to light at WaWa intersection and carefully make a U-turn back.

From Kilmarnock
VA3 to VA 33. Turn left 3.4 mi
Turn right onto VA3E/Twiggs Ferry Rd 4.6 mi
Turn right onto VA 198 (Buckley HallRd) to VA3 E (Windsor Rd) 1.6 mi
Turn left on Main St 1.2 mi
Turn left on US 17/Geo WashingtonMemorial Hwy 4.6 mi
Turn right into White Marsh Shopping Center

From Tappahannock
17 South to White Marsh Shopping Center on Right

Distinction is the area's newest full service catering hall for events. The Serendipity Room can accommodate up to 75 guests for theater seating or up to 54 table seated guests. For more information, feel free to contact us!
​(804) 824-9600



Back to top of page


Get CBW's Latest Bay Writers News 

Copyright 2003-2014 Chesapeake Bay Writers - Website by 2CarrsCreative
Contact CBW Board